Visits: Girl’s Trip to Portsmouth

I am not one to travel during spring break. It can be very costly and I prefer to spend the week relaxing and saving my money where I can. This break, my need for adventure was fulfilled with a day trip to Portsmouth with my best friends.

During the school year, it had been difficult to experiment with photography in different places just because I was preoccupied with school assignments and work. My two friends, Amanda and Alex, are very into photo-taking, as well, so making the plan to spend the day sight-seeing a local place, taking pictures, and eating good food was a done deal for us.

IMG_6703.jpg

Here are two perfect photo spots I found on my trip:

  1. The Beach: The beach we stopped at was Hampton Beach, on the ride to Portsmouth. However, I’ve discovered the beach is generally a beautiful spot for photography. It’s very scenic! The sand, water, sky, and rocks are all beautiful (the bigger, flat, rocks are also great to sit on). Secondly, the lighting can almost never go wrong. Unless it is very sunny, which can create very high exposure, pictures are always very bright and crisp. We chose to do our day trip on a very overcast day, which made the lighting ideal for picture-taking. Overall, it was lovely.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2. Fezziwig’s Food and Fountain Portsmouth: THIS. IS. THE. CUTEST. PLACE. EVER. My friend Alex recommended we try this little place for an afternoon snack, and boy, am I glad she did. Everyone who knows me, knows I am a fan of tea. This place has ALL the tea. It has a tea selection, including a deal for “tea for two”, plus a variety of scones, muffins, mousses, cupcakes, and crêpes. The menu also includes meal items, like sandwiches and poutine, the classic french fry and gravy Canadian dish. I had a red pepper and cheddar scone and a mug of their green tea. Then, we took pictures of the cute interior of the shop. There were teacup-lined walls, mirrors and ceiling decoration, as well as a beautiful grand piano. A very photogenic, and delicious, spot. Not to mention a very friendly staff! Our waitress offered to take pictures of the three of us. 10/10 recommend.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After walking around downtown and taking more pictures, we ended the day with a picture-free dinner at the local diner. The day was spent with good weather (despite the chilly breeze), good food, good times, and good company.

Note to self: plan more day trips.

Happy Post-break Monday,

Hayley

 

One thought on “Visits: Girl’s Trip to Portsmouth

Leave a comment