Where Have I Been?

With my last article, I had made a resolution to post more and more on this blog, but I think it is safe to say I hit a slump. With the excitement of the New Year came the stress of a new semester of school. I realized that switching to new classes after a month long break was not an easy adjustment for me. My classes have heavier workloads and focus more on class participation which is good because it pushes me out of my comfort zone, but for a while this discomfort led to much anxiety for me.

So the past month I have been focusing my energy on, well, sorting out the nervous energy and replacing it with excitement. It’s a day-to-day process, but rather than fearing change, I’m striving to look at it as embracing the new. So far, this strategy is working out for me and I have settled into my classes.

In my absence, I have kept up two of my resolutions. My workout routine is still going strong. I strive to work out a minimum of three days a week. Pinterest is yet again my hero for always having different workout ideas for the days I want to spice up my routine. I have also auditioned and joined another production as I had planned to. However, this one holds a special place in my heart because all of the hard work and passion behind my performance is going towards a good cause. I am a proud member of Voices of Hope Boston- a group that raises funds and awareness for cancer through theatrical performance and music. I have always dedicated each and every one of my performances to my Grammy, who passed away in 2012 after a long battle with cancer. Now, this performance helps people just like her. I am blessed to have this opportunity. On a similar note, I have also had the chance to record music with my collegiate a capella group, Vocality, which was another unreal experience shared with another group of amazing people.

And that’s where I was during my “slump” of no posts. But with every sink, there’s a rise. After a winter of severe writer’s block will come a spring of new ideas. I will be posting a lot more this spring. This post was mainly to explain why I was not posting and to promise that I have no given up on this project.

The sun is shining, it’s a new day, and another step on our journey. 

blog.jpg

Picture Taken by Tyesin Jasmin

 

See you soon!

Hayley

 

Leave a Reply

